Gunning for a sales position at the hotel

In my efforts to accrue an income of $120,000 a year or more, and have $500,000 in my bank account (ideally by the age of 30) I’ve recently decided to try and increase my income by means of the hotel I currently work at. I’ve been employed for a little over a year now, and think it would be a good idea to transition from the front office to the executive offices. (Not as fancy as it sounds) About 2 months ago I had the chance to meet a woman by the name of Robin. She is currently the global sales director for the company. She is top of the chain for sales, modestly put. We were introduced in the back by the sales manager and spoke for a few moments. Last week I noticed she was back in the office, and I wanted to talk to her about getting an internship in the sales department of our hotel. I missed her as she’d left before I’d even had the chance to say hello. It was a little discouraging, but had her email address from the first time we’d met. So I mustered up the courage to send her this email:

“Good evening, Robin

My name is Seth, and I work at the front desk of the Hollywood Roosevelt. You might possibly have forgotten, but we met in brief at one point in the sales office. Seth Peterson introduced me to you. I wanted to catch you today while you were in, but you were a little pre-occupied this morning.

Getting to the point; I have been working at the hotel for a little over a year now, and am looking to progress my profession in the hospitality industry. I’m looking for your guidance, as I would like to advance my career to the hotel’s sales division. I do not have an extensive hotel work history, nor do I have the relevant (hotel) sales expertise. What I do have, however, is the yearning to do well for myself and for the company which, knowing me, surpasses any amount of prerequisites.

I wasn’t sure if it was you I should have reached out to in respect to this, but I unquestionably did want to express to you my enthusiasm in transitioning to the hotel sales division at some point. Is there an Internship program that my be offered for individuals such as myself who want to acquire a career in hotel sales? If I had to sum up my primary question I would ask: how to I advance myself from the front office to the sales division?

Forgive me if you are not the proper individual to communicate this to in regards to this matter. I truly figured it could not hurt to reach out to you, and let’s face it; we all have to start somewhere. I hope this finds you well.

Best,

Seth”

I figured it couldn’t hurt to TRY, right? So it was sent.

Today it has been about a week since sending that email, and I have gotten no response. I didn’t know whether or not to expect a response as she is flooded with emails each day, but It was worth a shot! She may even respond later down the line, who knows. I’m staying optimistic, and detaching myself from the outcome of the email.

Today I decided to meet with the head of Human Resources in hopes she could shine a little light on my situation. We met, and spoke about an internship, but nothing really came about it. She told me that there has never been a sales internship before, and it could be created if the time/budget were to become available. She told me that I should speak to Bob, our director of sales about my desire to work for the sales team. She asked me if I wanted her to reach out to him for me, but I gratefully told her I would be more than willing to do so myself. So I sent Bob an email when I got home today, and he responded promptly. We have a meeting this Friday, and I will lay out all the questions I have for him, and hopefully come out with a solid positive answer. This may or may not be the appropriate way for me to go about achieving my goal of $500k, but this is trial and error. If I want different results I will have to do things differently. I’ll let you all know how it goes!

One thought on “Gunning for a sales position at the hotel

  1. […] that have opened up at my hotel. Talk about coincidence? It wasn’t too long I posted this in regards to working for the sales division of the hotel.. and oddly enough something opened up! […]

Leave a comment